Type to search

Coronavirus COVID-19 Local News

10,371 Voters Turn Out in Comal County for Texas Primary Runoffs

Cynthia Jaqua, Comal County's elections administrator, runs day-to-day operations at the County's Elections Office and reports to Bobbie Koepp, county clerk. They both reported voters as patient and conscientious in Tuesday's Texas primary runoff elections.

Unofficial results posted to mycomalcounty.com show that 10,371 registered Comal County voters showed up at the polls yesterday for the Texas primary runoff elections.

They represent 9.57-percent of the county’s 108,352 registered voters.

No issues were reported at any of the county’s 12 vote centers despite new COVID-19 precautions designed to protect voters.

On its Facebook page, Comal County said Elections Administrator Bobbie Koepp and Elections Coordinator Cynthia Jaqua thanked voters for making their voices heard in yesterday’s runoff election.

“Without exception through two weeks of early voting and 12 hours on election day, voters were patient, kind, conscientious about wearing masks and overall helped make the experience easy for everyone,” the county posted. “It was a good practice run for the big November contests.”


U.S. Senator

Mary ‘MJ’ Hegar beat Texas Sen. Royce West with 72.9-percent of the vote (2,773 votes for Hegar and 1,063 votes for Royce for a total of 3,836 votes cast)

Railroad Commissioner

Chrysta Castaneda beat Roberto ‘Beto’ Alonzo with 75.03-percent of the vote (2,806 votes for Castaneda and 934 votes for Alonzo for a total of 3,740 votes cast)


U.S. Representative Dist. 35

Jenny Garcia Sharon beat ‘Gullermo’ William Hayward with 66.26-percent of the vote (487 votes for Sharon and 248 votes for Hayward for a total of 735 votes cast)

Member, State Board of Education District 5

Lani Popp beat Robert Morrow with 87.28-percent of the vote (5,667 votes for Popp and 826 votes for Morrow for a total of 6,493 votes cast).

Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *