Type to search

Local News

County Wins Excellence in Safety Award

In this photo from 2019, Comal County’s Safety Committee was recognized in Commissioners Court for winning the 2018 Excellence in Safety Award. From left to right: Jail Captain Gregory Reese, Director of Facilities Management Mike Boursier, Emergency Management Coordinator Jeff Kelley, Texas Association of Counties Risk Control Consultant Joe Szewczyk, Human Resources Office Manager and Loss Control Coordinator Loretta Wallace, Road and Bridge Department Safety Coordinator Leili Samuelson, Director of Public Health Cheryl Fraser, Director of Human Resources Jerri Hettinger and Fire Marshal Kory Klabunde.

Comal County earned a 2019 Excellence in Safety Award from the Texas Association of Counties (TAC) risk management pool for its record of excellence and commitment to safety in the workplace.

The county was one of just 20 members of the TAC risk management pool to earn the award, according to a press release issued on Friday.

“We’re pleased and proud to receive this award,” said Jerri Hettinger, Comal County director of Human Resources. “Our commitment to safe practices among our employees helps to reduce employee injuries and save taxpayers money by minimizing our worker compensation costs, and it’s gratifying to be recognized for that work.”

To qualify for the award, a county must participate in the TAC pool’s Workers’ Compensation Program, have a safety program or accident prevention plan, and have an active safety committee.

Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *