Type to search


ERCOT Cancels Emergency Alert

Consumers were asked to limit electric usage between 3 and 7 p.m. today after Electric Reliability Council of Texas issued an Energy Emergency Alert-1 (EEA-1).

All eyes were on Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) today, which earlier issued but canceled at 5 p.m. an Energy Emergency Alert-1 (EEA-1) advising electric providers statewide, including Canyon Lake’s Pedernales Electric Cooperative (PEC) that conservation was required.

With possible three-digit temperatures expected for foreseeable future, PEC’s Mike Viesca, executive vice president of Public Affairs, advises members to keep an eye on the company’s Facebook page, social-media channels and website for conservation tips and other useful information.

Today’s EEA-1 meant that operating reserves on Texas’ electric grid dropped below 2,300 megawatts and were not expected to recover within 30 minutes. ERCOT was calling on all available power supplies, including power from other grids, if available.

Consumers were asked to limit electric usage between 3 and 7 p.m. by raising thermostats by several degrees, avoiding running the dishwasher and turning off heat-dry features, installing timers that turn off hot-water heaters when not needed, running washing machines and dryers in the morning or after 7 p.m., and air-drying clothes.

ERCOT has a series of emergency procedures that may be used when operating reserves drop below specified levels. These procedures are designed to protect the reliability of the electric system as a whole and prevent an uncontrolled system-wide outage.

Today’s warning was a Level 1. ERCOT would order transmission companies to implement rotating outages that affect customers only in the event of an EEA Level 3.

For more information about ERCOT’s emergency alert system, click here.

Based in Johnson City, TX, Pedernales Electric Cooperative is the largest distribution electric co-op in the U.S., serving 1 million Central Texans. PEC maintains over 22,388 miles of distribution lines, serving 45 cities in 24 counties, including Comal County.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *