Type to search

Local News politics

LWV-CA Elects ‘Serendipitous Combination of Leaders,’ Three of Them from Canyon Lake

Former Tye Preston Memorial Library Director Roxanna Deane is stepping down as president of the League of Women Voters-Comal Area and will now serve as its treasurer. Montana Rindahl, right, Youth Services librarian at Bulverde's Mammen Family Public Library, recently joined the local league because it's an "excellent fit" for her interests.

Three Canyon Lake residents are among a “serendipitous combination of leaders” who will guide the League of Women Voters-Comal Area (LWV-CA) over the next year.

At the league’s annual meeting May 19, former Tye Preston Memorial Library (TPML) Library Director Roxanna Deane ended her eight-year tenure as LWV-CA president.

Deane, a Canyon Lake resident, will remain on the board as treasurer.

“I joined the league when I moved to Texas because I knew nothing about how the state or county governments worked,” she said. “I am grateful to be part of an organization that so thoughtfully and intentionally strives to make a difference in our community.”

Jerrie Champlin is the new president of LWV-CA.

She said despite pandemic restrictions, the group expanded its outreach and impact over the last two years.

“Ahead, we face new and potentially more difficult barriers which I am confident we can overcome with the diverse skills and experience of our members and this group of directors,” Champlin said.

Newly elected from Canyon Lake are Nominating Chair Robin Engel and Nominating Committe Member Jenny Ayala.

Also on the 2021-22 board are Vice President for Voter Services Laraine Henchal, Vice President for Organization Connie Born, Vice President for Programs Daphne Spraitzar, and Secretary Ada Conlan.

New to the league this year is Montana Rindahl, Youth Services librarian at Bulverde’s Mammen Family Public Library.

Rindahl said record voter turnout in recent elections inspired her to become more involved in Comal County.

A self-proclaimed Vote411 evangelist and former Get Out the Vote canvasser, Rindahl said the league is an “excellent fit” for her interests.

At its May 19 meeting, LWV-CA also recognized three Comal ISD educators for their contributions to democracy and action.

Secondary Social Studies Curriculum Coordinator Patricia Nieto and Communications Administrative Support Liaison Martha Miller received Educating for Democracy awards.

Carla Schumann, director of Fine Arts, received the Innovations in Civics Education award.

Awards plaques were presented in advance of the league’s online Zoom meeting.

During the meeting, speakers Jennifer Richmond and Dorsey Cartwright with the Texas Chapter of Braver Angels outlined their group’s nonpartisan efforts to unite “reds” and “blues” so they can listen to and respect each other even while they disagree.

About LWV-CA

The League of Women Voters is a 501(c)3, nonpartisan educational organization that encourages the informed and active participation in government and influences public policy
through education and advocacy. LWV never supports or opposes candidates for office, or
political parties. For more information, to join or to donate go to lwvcomal.org.

Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *