Type to search

Polling Locations for Early Voting

Your Online Newspaper for Canyon Lake, Texas

Local News

Polling Locations for Early Voting


Comal County announced it will open five polling locations for early voting in the March 6 Texas primary election.

Early voting begins Feb. 20.

Registered voters can choose between voting in either the Republican or the Democratic primaries when they arrive at the polling places. Voters cannot participate in both primaries.

Polling Locations

Voters can, however, vote at any of the following polling places through the early voting period, which ends March 2.

Except where noted below, polling places will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Friday, Feb. 20-23; 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 24; 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 25; and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday to Friday, Feb. 26 to March 2.

  • Comal County Elections Center, 396 N. Seguin Ave., New Braunfels
  • Comal County Goodwin Annex, 1297 Church Hill Drive, New Braunfels
  • Comal County Bulverde Annex, 30470 Cougar Bend
  • Mountain Valley Middle School, 1165 Sattler Road, Canyon Lake
  • Garden Ridge City Hall, 9400 Municipal Parkway, where the polling place will close at 4 p.m. on Feb. 20, Feb. 22 and Feb. 27.

Here’s a look at who’s on the ballot in Comal County, along with helpful information from the League of Women Voters-Comal Area.

Early voting ends March 2, and the last day to apply for a ballot by mail is Feb. 23. Voter registration ended Feb.5. Primary election is March 6.

Republican and Democratic candidates will not appear on the same ballot until November. Voters must ask for either a Republican or Democrat ballot.

Comal County Elections

To see a sample ballot for Comal County voters, visit the county elections website by clicking here

Any of the Precinct 2 ballots should contain all races, including that Justice of the Peace race. Any of the Precinct 4 ballots should contain all the races, including commissioner.


Running unopposed in the Republican primary are Comal County Judge Sherman Krause,  District Clerk Heather N. Kellar, and  Treasurer Renee L. Couch.

Incumbent Comal County Commissioner, Precinct 4 Jen Crownover, Republican, squares off against two other incumbent Republican candidates. They are Jeanne Slupik and G. Ted Ballard.

Additionally, three candidates are challenging incumbent Jennifer Tharp for Criminal District Attorney in the Republican primary. They are Deborah Wigington, Joseph Sloane, and Steven de Lemos.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2, also is contested in the Republican primary by incumbent Larry Shallcross and challenger James Walker.

In the Democratic primary, candidates for county offices are Gloria Meehan for County Clerk and Dorothy Carroll for Comal County Commissioner, Precinct 4.

Incumbent County Clerk Bobbie Koepp, Republican, is alone on the ticket. Challenger Gloria Meehan  appears on the Democratic ticket.

Who Will Represent Comal County?

All 36 U.S. representatives, one U.S. senator, 15 state senators and all state representatives are up for re-election. The governor, lieutenant governor, and attorney general also face challengers.

Texas U.S. Representatives

Congressional District 21 – Republican Congressman Lamar Smith announced earlier he is not seeking reelection. New Republican contenders are Jason Isaac, Susan Narvaiz, Eric Burkhart, Samuel Temple, William Negley, Ivan Arturo Andarza, Robert Stovall, Al Poteet, Foster Hagen and Matt McCall. Democratic candidates are Derrick Crowe, Mary Street Wilson and Joseph Kopser.

Congressional District 35 – Incumbent Lloyd Doggett faces no opposition in the Democratic primary. Republicans seeking office are David Smalling and Sherrill Alexander.

Texas State Senator

Texas State Senate District 25 – Incumbent Republican Donna Campbell faces Republican Shannon McClendon. Democrats facing off are Jack Guerra and Steven Kling.

Texas State Representative

Texas State House District 73 – Incumbent Kyle Biederman, Republican, faces challenger Dave Campbell, Republican. In the Democratic primary, Stephanie Phillips is unopposed.

About the 2018 Primary

The upcoming Texas primary is an extremely important election in Texas!

Make your plans now to early vote! It is easy!

Who is on the ballot? Check out the League’s Voters Guide:

From LWV-CA: “Voters in the Texas primaries and conventions choose who will run for office in the General Election. For many communities in Texas, their elected officials are chosen in the primary election because many districts heavily favor one party over the other.

The Republican and Democratic Parties choose their candidates in a primary election. The Libertarian and Green Parties choose their candidates in party conventions.

Texas has open primaries. That means that ALL Texas voters can participate in one of these events.Voters who don’t strongly identify with any political party can and should carefully consider the choices and participate in one of the primaries or conventions.

But you can only participate in one. Once a voter has voted in one party, that voter cannot participate in another party’s election or convention.

The League encourages all registered voters to participate in the Texas Primary Election and vote for the best candidates.

And don’t forget, voting in a primary does not commit you to vote for a particular candidate in the general election.”

To create a personalized voter’s guide, click here.


  1. Lela Brnicky September 13, 2020

    When and where is early voting for Precinct 403?
    This is for the November 3, 2020 election. Dates & times please.

  2. David McCammon July 10, 2020

    Where in Canyon Lake will there be early voting and on what days?


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *