Type to search

Local News

Record Midterm Voting Reported

With more than 61 percent of registered Comal County voters coming to the polls, 2018 blew away every midterm for at least the past 30 years.

Comal County voters “blew away every midterm for at least the past 30 years” according to information just posted to the county’s Facebook page.

A total of 62,296 residents voted in the midterm election — nearly as many who voted in 2016 — an impressive number considering voter turnout is historically much lower for midterms.

More than 61 percent of registered voters cast ballots:

  • Total voters-absentee – 5,499
  • Total voters-early – 43,754
  • Total voters – election day – 13,043
  • Straight party Republican – 31,282
  • Straight party Democrat – 8,514
  • Libertarian- 207
  • U.S. senator – Republican: 44,079 Ted Cruz/Democrat: 16,830 Beto O’Rouke/Libertarian: 586 Neal M Dikeman
  • U.S. Representative District 21 –  Republican: 37,514 Chip Roy/Democrat: 11,855 Joseph Kopser/Libertarian: 807 Lee Santos
  • Texas State Senator District 25 – Republican: 45,269 Donna Campbell/Democrat: 15,945 Steven Kling
  • Texas State Representative District 73- Republican 44,759 Kyle Biedermann/Democrat 16,225 Stephanie Phillips

Comal County Commissioners Court canvassed midterm election results at their weekly meeting on Tuesday (scheduled early due to Thanksgiving holiday), meaning counting of votes has officially ended and tallied for the record.

Three local candidates won contested races: Republican incumbent County Clerk Bobbie Koepp with 45,516 votes to Democrat Gloria Meehan’s 15,059 votes; Republican incumbent county commissioners Scott Haag, Pct. 2, and Canyon Lake’s Jen Crownover, Pct. 4, with 13,523 votes to Republican Dorothy Carroll’s 3,756 votes.

On the national level, Comal County remains solidly Republican, though, like many counties along the I-35 corridor, voters shifted toward Democrats this year, giving the top statewide democrat on the ballot a larger share of their votes than in the past 20 years.

Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *