Type to search

Local News

Supt. Kim Receives LWVCA Award for Democracy

The League of Women Voters of the Comal Area, which serves Comal and Guadalupe counties, elected its 2019-2020 board of directors at their annual meeting May 20 in New Braunfels. Top left to right are President Roxanna Deane, Vice President for Program Kathie Jinks, Secretary Sandi Parks, Vice President for Voter Services Ada Conlan, Treasurer Gloria Suarez Sasser, Membership Director Jenny Ayala. Bottom, left to right: Vice President for Organization Dawn Medeiros, Youth Empowerment Director Janyth Frederickson and Publicity Director Jerrie Champlin.

CISD Superintendent Andrew Kim was recognized May 21 by League of Women Voters of the Comal Area (LWVCA), who presented him with the Educating for Democracy Award at their annual meeting in New Braunfels.

In his acceptance speech, Kim outlined the priorities and challenges CISD faces and emphasized the need to help students feel like they belong to the community.

LWVCA Youth Empowerment Director Janyth Frederickson presented the in recognition of his commitment to registering students to vote, and for his invitation to the League to assist in voter education and registration at CISD high schools.

“CISD has been a wonderful partner in allowing the League to go into classrooms with a new voter education program,” Frederickson said.

“Our goals are to register eligible students, to give them resources so they can get accurate information about elections and voting, and to encourage them to vote. Only a third of eligible young adults voted in 2016. Our democracy needs their input.”

League volunteers helped register 394 new voters in the past month at CISD high schools.

League members also elected new officers at the meeting and approved bylaw revisions and the budget for 2019-2020.

LWVCA President Roxanna Deane noted that June 4 is the 100-year anniversary of the passage of the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which gives women the right to vote.

Fourteen months later, states ratified the amendment.

The League of Women Voters was founded in 1920 in response to the tremendous effort it took to get the U.S. Congress to approve the amendment.

“Maintaining nonpartisanship and finding solutions to issues through consensus are still the hallmarks of the League,” Deane said. “At 99-years-old, the League has stood the test of time and continues to work to make a difference in our community, state, and nation.”

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization that encourages the informed and active participation in government and influences public policy through education and advocacy. LWV never supports or opposes candidates for office or political parties. For more information visit www.lwvcomal.org and www.facebook.com/LWVComalTX.

Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *