Type to search

Local News

Three CCSO Deputies Honored for Actions During Aug. 20 Shooting in Spring Branch

Awarded for their bravery during an Aug. 20 shooting in Spring Branch are (left to right) Comal County Sheriff's Office Deputy Eddy Luna, National Society of Sons of the American Revolution Public Safety Award Committee Chair Lou Colantoni, Deputy Rene Luna, Sheriff Mark Reynolds, and Sgt. Rick Montanez.

The National Society of Sons of the American Revolution (NSSAR) recognized three Comal County Sheriff’s Office (CCSO) deputies on Monday for their actions during the Aug. 20 shooting of Deputy Eddy Luna, who was attempting to serve a felony warrant in the 1400 block of Springwood in Spring Branch when the fugitive opened fire.

The lower portion of Luna’s right arm was almost completely severed during the shooting and was amputated following several surgeries.

Lou Colantoni, chairman of the NSSAR’s Public Safety Award Committee, presented awards to Luna, for outstanding bravery despite being wounded; to Deputy Rene Luna, for administering first aid after the incident, and to Deputy Nick Nolte, for his actions in subduing the suspect.

Sgt. Rick Montanez accepted the award on Nolte’s behalf.

The NSSAR is a nonprofit, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting patriotism and preserving and teaching American history to future generations.

Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *