Type to search

Local News Schools

Top CLHS Students Recognized at Academic Banquet

The virtual banquet celebrated the academic accomplishments of the district's top-ranking students, their parents and families, and the special educators responsible for their success. Image courtesy of Comal ISD.

Comal ISD recognized its top academic seniors at Canyon Lake High School with a virtual banquet that allowed students to honor their mentors as well.

This year’s 19th Annual Academic Recognition Banquet also paid tribute to Jan Heckendorn, founder and creator of the Comal Education Foundation and a driving force behind the annual recognition banquet for 17 years.

In a press release, the district said this year’s virtual celebration recognized the academic accomplishments of the district’s top-ranking students, their parents and families, as well as the special educators in their lives who helped them get to where they are today.

Canyon Lake High School

  • Megan Allison honoring Amanda Custy-Schaas, agriculture science
  • Mia Allison honoring Agatha Bennett, physics, geoscience, environmental science
  • Amanda Diaz honoring Robert Ceyanes, algebra, calculus
  • Cassidy Felps honoring Kim Clemons, biology, assistant athletic coordinator
  • Jessica M. Gore honoring Israel Pena, athletic trainer
  • Mason Lee honoring Kellie Schatte, algebra II, computer science
  • Madeleine Morris honoring Charles Van Houten, history
  • Lainee Moses honoring Kim Moses, algebra II, pre-calculus, swim
  • Orion Petronilo honoring Mary Beth Gallagher, statistics
  • Andrew Pipkin honoring Ryan Tierney, world history, cross country
  • Brandon Robinson honoring Jennifer Robinson,
  • Tristan Rodgers honoring Tina Platt, geography
  • Kalani Thorpe honoring Therese Pilzner, biology, anatomy
  • Dylan Wells honoring Caleb Hoffmann, band
  • Nash Young honoring Angie Mickey, counselor

Memorial Early College High School with St. Philip’s College

  • KeiLi Buckner honoring Tia Weidenfeller, counselor
  • Josephine Tesauro honoring Francine Miller-Sallese, English
  • Emma Vequist honoring Natalie Black, math
  • Kyle Weidenfeller honoring Jennifer Fey, English
  • Clayton Wiegel honoring Robert Ramirez, art

Smithson Valley High School

  • Madeline Aguilar honoring Cory De Boest, AP capstone
  • Jordan Auld honoring Michael Saberian, testing coordinator
  • Alastair Craythorne honoring Commander Michael Mullen, JROTC
  • Rachel Dziuba honoring Jason Adkins, world history, head girls soccer coach
  • Tayla Glass honoring Vincent Giordanelli, calculus
  • Jacqueline LaFond honoring Shauna Douglass, child development, fashion design
  • Kassidy LaForge honoring Lauren Dowlearn, floral design, ag
  • Mayle Lester honoring Rodney Murray, sports medicine, athletic trainer
  • James Mendez honoring Jonathan McKinley, world geography, debate
  • Joshua Nelson honoring Keven Harshbarger, physics
  • Audrey Pauletti honoring Laquita Sellers, chemistry, environmental science
  • Quincy Smith honoring Erin Shephard, statistics
  • Alyssa Wagner honoring Kathryn Rutledge, calculus
  • Colby Wright honoring Dora Rodriguez, algebra II
  • William Yancosek honoring Lucy Capt, U.S. history, NHS sponsor


Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *