Republican, Democratic Candidates File for March Primaries

Ali Flores
Republican Ali Flores (standing, far left) is running to replace Pct. 4 Constable Shane Rapp, who has decided not to run in the March 5, 2024 Republican primary. Facebook image.

Monday was the filing deadline for candidates running for U.S. Congress, the Texas legislature, Comal County seats and judicial races in the March 5, 2024 Republican and Democratic primaries.

Two names were notably absent.

Pct. 1 Comal County Commissioner Donna Eccleston, who has represented Canyon Lake since 2009, did not file for reelection. She did not give a reason for her decision.

Pct. 4 Comal County Constable Shane Rapp also is stepping aside.

“My beautiful wife Leslee was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer in June,” he said. “In order to ensure her wellbeing and to fulfill the vow I promised to uphold the day I married her, I had to make the toughest decision to step away from the ‘thing’ I love most in life to protect and care for the ‘one’ I love most in life.”

Here is the official list of candidates posted Wednesday on the Texas Secretary of State’s website:

U.S. Senator

Republican – Ted Cruz (incumbent), Holland “Redd” Gibson, R.E. “Rufus” Lopez
Democrat – Colin Allred, Aaron Arguijo, Meri Gomez, Mark Gonzalez, Roland Gutierrez, A. “Robert” Hassan, Steven J. Keough, Heli Rodriguez Prilliman, Carl Oscar Sherman, Thierry Tchenko

U.S. House District 21 

Republican – Chip Roy (incumbent)
Democrat – Kristin Hook

State Senator, District 25

Republican – Donna Campbell (incumbent)
Democrat – Merrie Fox

State Representative District 73

Republican – Carrie Isaac (incumbent)
Democrat – Sally Duval

District Judge of the 22nd Judicial District

Republican – R. Bruce Boyer
Democrat – none

District Judge of the 433rd Judicial District

Republican – Dib Waldrip
Democrat – none

Comal County – County Court at Law No. 2

Republican – Charles A. Stephens II (incumbent)
Democrat – none

Comal County – County Court at Law No 3

Republican – Deborah Linnartz Wiggington (incumbent)
Democrat – none

Comal County Sheriff

Republican – Mark W. Reynolds (incumbent)
Democrat – David Williams

Comal County Tax Assessor-Collector

Republican – Kristen H. Hoyt (incumbent)
Democrat – none

Comal County Commissioner Pct. 1

Republican – Doug Leecock, Joyce Yannuzzi
Democrat – Julie Sanders

Comal County Commissioner Pct. 3

Republican – Kevin Webb (incumbent)
Democrat – Tanya Marroquin, Bently Paiz

Comal County Constable Pct. 1

Republican – Charlie Motz (incumbent)
Democrat – none

Comal County Constable Pct. 2

Republican – Mark Cheatum (incumbent)
Democrat – none

Comal County Constable Pct. 4

Republican – David De La Fuente, Alice “Ali” Flores, Chris Garcia
Democrat – none



Please review our commenting rules before submitting a post.

1 Comment

  1. There will be a Libertarian in the race for US House of Representatives, Texas 21st district.

    His name is Bob King, he is a retired business executive and nonprofit leader, and he will give voters a third option instead of the usual Red vs Blue tribal warfare.

    Please cover him. He has principles and he has ideas the other two parties don’t want you to hear.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.